Choosing the House…

Even though we have SOOOOO much time (over a year) we were quite keen to have a look around at some display homes. We visiting the display centre for Masterson at Warrick Farm and found some designs were a big no-no.

I had a check list in my head of what I wanted. 4 bedrooms, double garage, 2 bathrooms, an outdoor alfresco/ BBQ area, a laundry with access to outside (whats the point of carrying wet washing though the house), ducted air-con, James wanted stone bench tops and higher 2.7m ceilings.

Google became my best friend, not that it wasn’t before. It took me to the Homeworld Centre at Kellyville. They display 220 homes and their website is pretty good, it can narrow down how much you want to spend, the size of your block and how many rooms you want.

http://www.homeworld.com.au

I went through each one and narrowed it down to what builders or companies ticked all the boxes on our checklist. However they only list the homes on display. I researched further by going to each different website for all the building companies. And with all this info made a short list of those to go and have a look at.

We went there one day, and soon felt what companies we preferred over others. There was one on paper James preferred from McDonald Jones Homes which was on the display there, they sales guy asked how big our block was etc and suggested another which was on display at Kellyville Ridge only a 10 min drive away. So we went there too, with a lunch stop at the pub on the way 🙂

We got talking to the sales lady at Kellyville Ridge and I nearly fell over when she told me she lived in Ebenezer (where mum grew up). She explained about having a quote done, how much we would have to pay up front to lock anything in and answered heaps of our questions, they are all a blur right now. If I remember I’ll edit my post.

Anyways the house that was suggested to us by the guy at Homeworld, James just wanted to sign up there and then and not look at any more. There was still one more I wanted to see that ticked all the boxes in my head. Fortunately for us there were both on display at Oran Park.

Leave a comment